TABLET (max. 1024px)
MOBILE (max. 640px)
Return to Top

THE SCOOP | Felix Hong Wins Québec's 2017 Prix d’Europe

By on

Winners of the four categories at the Prix d’Europe: Hugo Laporte (voice), Antoine Malette-Chénier (strings), Felix Hong (keyboards), Stephanie Morin (winds/percussion) (Photo: Jennifer Liu)
Winners of the four categories at the Prix d’Europe: Hugo Laporte (voice), Antoine Malette-Chénier (strings), Felix Hong (keyboards), Stephanie Morin (winds/percussion) (Photo: Jennifer Liu)

MONTREAL – The jury of the 2017 Prix d’Europe Competition has chosen pianist Felix Hong as this year’s winner. As part of the grand prize, Hong receives $25,000 plus performance engagements – a recital at the Bon Pasteur Historic Chapel, as well as a concerto performance with the Montreal Youth Symphony Orchestra. In total, over $44,000 in prizes was awarded to some of Quebec’s top classical music talents yesterday evening.

In a statement to Musical Toronto, Hong wrote: “It’s my greatest honour to be awarded the Prix d’Europe 2017, not only is it a great experience overall, but I got to play in beautiful halls and pianos and Chapelle Bon-Pasteur and Salle Bourgie.” For the pianist who will pursue a Master’s degree at the Guildhall School in September, “Prix d’Europe has made my dream come true.”

Since its inception in 1911, the Competition has provided scholarships to young musicians on a yearly basis, except in 1971. Should a musician win the $25,000 grand prize, the amount is intended to help finance their music studies beyond Quebec, notably in Europe.

Other winners are:

Second Prize ($5,000): Antoine Malette-Chénier (harp);

Third Prize ($3,000): Hugo Laporte (baritone);  

Fourth Prize ($2,500): Stephanie Morin (flute)

Fernand Lindsay Composition Prize ($10,000; biennial): Charles-Antoine Fréchette

John Newmark Prize ($4,000) for exceptional musicality: Antoine Malette-Chénier (harp)

Béatrice Kennedy Bourbeau Prize ($2,000) awarded to an instrumentalist for best performance of a work, across all musical periods: Noémie Raymond-Friset (cello) and Elizabeth Skinner (violin) ($1,000 each)

Jean-Paul Sevilla Prize ($2,000) for a piano performance of a piece from a predetermined list: Félix Marquis and Thierry Montpetit ($1,000 each)

Claire Charbonneau Clerk Prize ($1,000) for an exceptional singer or pianist: Pierre-André Doucet (piano)

Monik Grenier Prize ($1,000) for best piano performance of a Québécois work: Félix Marquis

Lied and Mélodie Prize ($1,000) for best performance of a complete set of mélodies, lieder or art songs: Hugo Laporte (baritone)

Guy Soucie Prize ($1,000) for best performance of a Québécois work: David Therrien-Brongo (percussion)

Canadian Music Centre (Quebec chapter) Prize ($500) for best performance of a Canadian work: Gabriel Trottier (horn)

Over its 106 editions, laureates of the Prix d’Europe include Jacques Hétu, Bruno Laplante, Karen Quinton, Jean Saulnier, Pascale Giguère, Stéphan Sylvestre, Wonny Song, Charles Richard-Hamelin, and Xiaoyu Liu. Samuel Dharmoo is a winner of the Composition category, in place since 2009.



Jennifer Liu
Follow me

Jennifer Liu

Jennifer is a recent graduate in piano performance. She is a native of Toronto but now lives in Montreal. She has written on classical music for La Scena Musicale, The WholeNote Magazine, and Musical Toronto.
Jennifer Liu
Follow me
Share this article
comments powered by Disqus