TABLET (max. 1024px)
MOBILE (max. 640px)
Return to Top

Listening: Pianist Leif Ove Andsnes a treat at Carnegie Hall recital

By on

Leif Ove Andsnes at Carnege Hall on Feb. 15 (Marion Burford photo, for NPR).

National Public Radio has Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes’ full Carnegie Hall recital from Wednesday night available for free audio streaming here.

The programme order is:

  • HAYDN Sonata in C Minor, Hob. XVI:20
  • BARTÓK Suite, Op. 14
  • DEBUSSY Images, Book I
  • CHOPIN Waltz in F Minor, Op. 70, No. 2
  • CHOPIN Waltz in G-flat Major, Op. 70, No. 1
  • CHOPIN Waltz in D-flat Major, Op. 70, No. 3
  • CHOPIN Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 42
  • CHOPIN Ballade in A-flat Major, Op. 47
  • CHOPIN Nocturne in B Major, Op. 62, No. 1
  • CHOPIN Ballade in G Minor, Op. 23

There is an insightful pre-show segment on Andsnes choosing the right piano, lots of intermission chatter, and, best of all, wonderful, clear-headed piano performances from Andsnes. (The format makes it easy to replay or skip over material.)

John Terauds

Share this article
comments powered by Disqus